One of Dairy Queen’s most iconic desserts has gone dairy-free, gluten-free, and vegan so all can enjoy without the cruelty.
Dilly Bars have been served at Dairy Queen since 1955, a classic staple of their menu up there with blizzards and ice cream cakes for the brand.
The Non-Dairy Dilly Bar is made with vegan coconut “ice cream” and covered with dairy-free chocolate. The chocolate does contain soy lecithin, but there are no other top allergens noted.
You can pick one up (or a whole box if you like) at Dairy Queen locations nationwide in the U.S. There is also several other cold treats that are dairy-free and vegan like:
The Misty Slush – Blue Raspberry, Kiwi Strawberry, Grape, Cherry & Lemon Lime. (All contain artificial colors), Light Smoothies – Orange, Strawberry, Strawberry Banana, Tripleberry Mango Pineapple, Berry-Pom, OrangeBerry & Pina Colada. Made with fresh fruit & no yogurt, and the Starkiss Popsicles.
The new Dilly Bar is made with coconut cream vegan chocolate and other allergy-friendly ingredients you can check below for.
Dilly Bar Ingredients: Frozen dessert (water, sugar, corn syrup, maltodextrin, coconut oil, coconut cream, contains 2% or less of vanilla extract, xanthan gum, guar gum, carrageenan, carob bean gum, mono & diglycerides); Coating (coconut oil, sugar, cocoa processed with alkali, corn starch, soy lecithin, salt, natural flavors).
The new dairy-free vegan treats began launching at Dairy Queens slowly in May and should be rolled out at all locations by the end of this month just call ahead to check your location.
So far the new vegan Dilly Bar has been spotted across the country in NYC, Las Vegas, Bloomington, MN, Houston TX, and even throughout Pennsylvania near this author’s office.
View this post on Instagram
@dairyqueen is that you? ********** Saw this on the @lasvegasvegans Facebook page. Any info? ********** #vegan #vegans #whatveganseat #veganandproud #veganlife #veganfoodshare #veganfood #vegansofig #igvegans #instafood #vegannoms #nom #noms #food #alittleveganismneverhurtanybody #veganfriend #YOURVEGANFRIEND #follow
This victory comes after many years of PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals) campaigning Dairy Queen to begin carrying cruelty-free vegan dairy-free options.
In those campaigns, PETA has stated unsurprisingly that Dairy Queen’s ice cream is “typically made with milk that’s been stolen from cows.”
“After years of offering treats made with cruelly obtained cow’s milk, Dairy Queen is finally embracing a delicious dairy-free dessert,” said PETA Executive Vice President Tracy Reiman.
“PETA thanks the company for adding this vegan option and looks forward to seeing it hit the spot with kind customers” she added in celebrating this milestone
Dairy Queen joins a growing list of many other national ice cream brands, including Baskin-Robbins and Ben & Jerry’s, in offering a sweet treat that doesn’t harm animals or the environment.
These dairy-free bars are Dairy Queen’s first major vegan release and hopefully a sign that the chain will be launching more vegan options in the future.
Let’s keep our fingers crossed for vegan non-dairy Blizzards making it on to the menu next!
Help Vegan News continue to get the news that matters to our community and help us move forward in these hard times.
You can help us continue creating and telling the stories of animals and activists by becoming a Patreon supporter at: https://www.patreon.com/vegannews
Or with a one time donation through: